Saina Nehwal Set to win Asian Games athletes' committee Poll unopposed

Saina Nehwal Set to win Asian Games athletes' committee Poll unopposed

Saina Nehwal poised for uncontested victory in Asian Games athletes' committee poll

In a historic move, the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA) is conducting its first-ever poll among athletes to elect 10 members of the Athletes' Committee. Indian badminton star and Olympic bronze medalist, Saina Nehwal, is set to secure an uncontested victory in the South Asia Zone.

Out of 26 nominations, Saina Nehwal emerged as the sole nominee from the South Asia Zone. The OCA explained that athletes will be voting for 10 committee members, with one female and one male representative from each of the five OCA zones: West Asia, Central Asia, South Asia, South East Asia, and East Asia.

Assured victory for Saina Nehwal

As the sole nominee from her zone, the 33-year-old Indian shuttler is expected to win uncontested, becoming one of the 10 members of the Athletes' Committee.

The OCA has set up six voting stations for athletes to cast their votes between September 18 and October 6. These stations are located in the Athletes' Village in Hangzhou and the sub-athletes' villages in the five co-host cities.

ALSO READ: Inter Miami clinches victory despite Messi's absence against Kansas City

The results of the election will be announced on October 7, coinciding with the closing of the Asian Games. The OCA aims to encourage as many athletes as possible to participate in the voting process.

Promoting athlete engagement

To boost athlete engagement, the Athletes' Dining Hall at the main Asian Games Village has been decorated with colorful voting booths and motivational slogans like 'Your Vote, Your Voice.' Additionally, QR codes have been provided to simplify the voting process.

The OCA has also created informative posters featuring photos of the 26 candidates nominated by National Olympic Committees for the 10 positions. These posters help athletes identify nominees from their respective zones.

Furthermore, a special pin badge dedicated to the Athletes' Committee election adds a commemorative touch to this historic event.

ALSO READ: Manika Batra's tournament mindset: striving for personal excellence on the big stage

Saina Nehwal's uncontested victory in this election marks a significant moment in the OCA's efforts to involve athletes directly in the decision-making process, emphasizing the importance of athlete representation in the world of sports governance.

Comment As:

Comment (0)